Explore. Dream. Discover.

Welcome to my adventure!

Boats

Months

Nautical Miles

Winner

In 2017 I will start for the race of my life and will take part to the Clipper Round the World sailing regatta. As an unofficial ambassador of The Ocean Cleanup my goal is to make people aware of our heavily polluted oceans. In my blog I’ll write about broken masts and bones, salty water and sun in our faces, about visits of blue whales and helicopters and the life in a 20 people team on a 70-foot race yacht. After some extensive crew training my team and I will be sailing for 11 month through all oceans and their conditions. I hope you enjoy reading!

Matthias Eigenmann

Presented by:

oddEVEN
SWISSPACER

Gold-Sponsors:

GriesserLaser VistaZip FilmsZip FilmsWemakoModel AG

“La Vida Bonita” in Panama City

I’m currently sitting at the hotel pool, right next to the famous Panama Canal. I see the ships passing by, using the canal to shortcut their way between Atlantic and Pacific. We will be doing the same on June 2nd. We arrived to Panama on the 27th and as we were...
Read More

Via Panama Canal to the Statue of Liberty

After the tough experience presented by the Northern Pacific we are currently enjoying more relaxed sailing. Although, just related to the conditions since we are in the middle of the fight for a podium result. This comes with frequent sail changes and quite a thrill,...
Read More

The Northern Pacific is crossed – we made it

When I write this we just crossed the finishing line a few hours ago, after crossing the Northern Pacific. To be honest, I’m not sure how I feel, the last month was an absolute roller coaster. On one hand I am pleased to be across that line. On the other hand we...
Read More

Another Day at the Office

We just crossed the international Dateline and have around 2’500 nautical miles to go to Seattle. Currently we live the daily Another Day at the Office – we got used to the condensation drips from the ceilng and the fact, that our clothes dry best while we wear...
Read More

Fishing Fleet Slalom and other challenges

The last race had it all: The heat (again), freezing cold, thousands of fishing boats, nets in our rudders, wind holes, heavy winds, downwind and upwind sailing, sleep deprivation und most important fun. Keep smiling, or try at least It was not always fun, especially...
Read More

First podium with Team Dare to Lead

I just had a last swim in the hotel pool. The daily swim helped to stay cool in a hot and humid Sanya. The race here was as I mentioned a torture through heat. Still we had a good spirit on board and we managed to sail fast. We finished the race on the second place. A...
Read More

We’re on our way to China!

China, we’re coming! We are currently between Papua New Guinea and the Philippines, in the middle of the battle of race 7. It looks good for us, but there are still almost 2000 miles to go until we arrive in Sanya, China. In the last days we are fighting for the lead...
Read More

Looking forward to Sydney-Hobart Yacht Race

I’m currently sitting in our team house, wait – in the Greenings team house we booked some time ago. Some time ago when Team Greenings still existed. In the mean time I have joined Team Dare to Lead and we already sailed together from Fremantle to Sydney....
Read More

Update

I’m currently sitting in the airplane. I’m travelling from Zurich via Abu Dhabi to Perth, Australia. From Perth it’s just a short trip by car to Fremantle. There I’ll join Team Dare to Lead, to continue racing. The fleet will leave Fremantle on...
Read More

Busy days in Punta del Este

We are currently half way between Punta del Este and our next destination Cape Town. We had a great stay stopover in Uruguay. The 10 days there where very busy and interesting and we felt welcomed very warmly – a big thank you to the people of Punta.   The...
Read More

All about The Ocean Cleanup project!

Click here!

Questions? Read the FAQ.

Click here!

How to support my project?

Click here!

Silver-Sponsors:

Med & Motionb2c link

Supplier:

bucher + waltk-sales

Supporter:

Adrian Marty, Frauenfeld | Alain Frey, Hunzenschwil | Alexandre Menezes, Zürich | André Ulrich, Zürich | Andrea Rapanaro, Zürich | Anna & Paul Eigenmann, Frauenfeld | Balz Schreier, Zürich | Barry Staines, Grandvaux | Bartosz Majsak, Wettswil | Bastien Campagne, Zürich | Bianca Wiesmann, Oberneunforn | b2c link GmbH, Zürich | Carsten Kneer, Singen DE | Celina Badertscher, Frauenfeld | Christian Bottlang, Stettlen | Damian Amherd, Dietikon | Denise & Ueli Frei, Frauenfeld | Eva Koller, Winterthur | Heiri Blatter, Marthalen | Iris Schaeublin, Binningen | Jan Knus, Märstetten | Jason Dunbar, Zürich | Jeannine Prehl, Bern | Jeffrey Sullit, Rothenburg | Katja Börner, Braunschweig DE | Laura Nussbaumer, Zug | Lea Imhof, Wädenswil | Lobsang Tsering, Frauenfeld | Lukas Müller, Zürich | Maja Welna, Bonau | Marcella Schmalz, Lachen | Marcin Lewak, Zürich | Markus Vitalini, Lachen | Mateusz Orlowski, Eglisau | Meret Badertscher, Frauenfeld | Michael Kuoni, Frauenfeld | Michael Schweizer, Zürich | Milan Juricek, Neuenhof | Monika Nussbaumer, Zug | Natacha Pagnoni, Nyon | Nina Buschmann, München DE | Olivier Wenger, Dänikon | Otto’s Schweiz AG, Sursee | Patrizia Raas, Wängi | Pierre Ukelo, Zürich | Philipp Höpli, Frauenfeld | Philipp Bucher, Frauenfeld | Priska & Jürg Altorfer, Baden | Rajesh Hosali, Winterthur | Raphael Bruderer, Diepoldsau | René Szummer, Winterthur | Rolf Menzi, Frauenfeld | Roswitha Gugg, Stettfurt | Sailbox.ch | Sascha Baumann, Frauenfeld | Simon Peter Zumbrunnen, Neftenbach | Sylvain Bertouzoz, Zürich | Simona & Christian Egli, Winterthur | Tanja Pichler, Frauenfeld | Theres Schmid, Uesslingen | Thomas Regli, Rheinfelden | Tomas Schwarz, Zürich | Urs Keller, Frauenfeld
(alphabetic order)

Explore. Dream. Discover.

Willkommen in meinem Abenteuer!

Boote

Monate

Seemeilen

Sieger

Im 2017 starte ich zum “Race of my Life” und nehme an der Clipper Round the World Regatta teil. Als inoffizieller Botschafter von The Ocean Cleanup möchte ich nebst Spenden generieren auf die stark verschmutzten Ozeane aufmerksam machen. In meinem Blog berichte ich über gebrochene Masten und Knochen, Salzwasser und Sonne im Gesicht, von Blauwal- und Helikopter-Besuchen und über das Leben in den Häfen dieser Welt. Nach intensiver Vorbereitung werde ich für 11 Monate in einem Team unterwegs sein – durch die Ozeane dieser Welt von London aus einmal um die Welt. Ich wünsche viel Unterhaltung!

Matthias Eigenmann

Präsentiert von:

oddEVEN SWISSPACER

Gold-Sponsoren:

GriesserLaser VistaZip FilmsZip FilmsWemakoModel AG

“La Vida Bonita” in Panama City

Ich sitze grad am Pool, direkt neben dem Panama Kanal. Riesige Frachtschiffe fahren an mir vorbei, während sie die Abkürzung durch dieses Bauwunder nutzen. Am 2. Juni werden wir es ihnen gleich tun und von der Pazifikseite in die Karibische See fahren. Ursprünglich...
Read More

Durch den Panama Kanal zur Freiheitsstatue

Nach den Strapazen des Nord Pazifiks geniessen wir seit ein paar Tagen gemütliches Segeln. Gemütlich in Anführungszeichen, denn unser Alltag ist von vielen Segelwechseln geprägt. Wir stecken mitten im Spitzenkampf im Rennen von Seattle nach Panama City. Aber immerhin...
Read More

Der Nord Pazifik ist überquert – wir haben es geschafft

Konstante 50 Knoten Wind, Böen bis 80 Knoten Diesen Blog schreibe ich wenige Stunden nach überqueren der Zielline, nachdem wir den berüchtigten Nord Pazifik hinter uns hatten. Nur wenige Amateur-Segler haben dieses Gewässer durchquert, zu rauh und ungemütlich ist es...
Read More

Another Day at the Office

Soeben haben wir die Datumslinie überquert und haben noch zirka 2’500 Seemeilen bis nach Seattle. Bei uns ist der Alltag eingekehrt, quasi «Another day at the office». Wir sind etwas über 40 Grad nördlich, es ist kalt, die See rau und wir haben uns daran...
Read More

Slalom um Fischerboote und andere Herausfoderungen

Das letzte Rennen hatte es in sich: Wieder die Hitze, eisige Kälte, tausende Fischerboote, Netze im Ruder, Windlöcher, Stürme, Downwind und Upwind, Schlafentzug und am wichtigsten: Spass. Keep smiling, oder versuche es wenigstens Wir hatten gar nicht immer Spass....
Read More

Erstes Podium mit Team Dare to Lead

Ich schwamm soeben meine letzte Runde im Pool. Die tägliche Abkühlung war eine Wohltat im heissen und feuchten Sanya. Das Rennen hier her war bereits eine Tortur in Sachen Hitze und Luftfeuchtigkeit. Trotzdem hatten wir eine gute Stimmung an Bord und konnten schnell...
Read More

Wir sind auf dem Weg nach China

China, wir kommen! Zurzeit sind wir zwischen Papua Neu Guinea und den Philippinen, in mitten des siebten Rennens um die Welt. Es sieht einmal mehr gut aus für uns, aber es sind noch immer fast 2000 Seemeilen bis nach Sanya, China. In den letzten Tagen lieferten wir...
Read More

Die grosse Freude auf das Sydney-Hobart Yacht Race

Ich sitze zur Zeit in unserem Teamhaus in Sydney – Moment – im Greenings Teamhaus. Dieses haben wir noch gebucht, als Team Greenings noch existierte. In der Zwischenzeit bin ich zum Team Dare to Lead gestossen. Zusammen sind wir bereits von Fremantle nach...
Read More

Update

Ich sitze zurzeit im Flugzeug und reise von Zürich via Abu Dhabi nach Perth. Von Perth aus ist nur noch eine kurze Autofahrt nach Fremantle, wo ich zum Team «Dare to Lead» stossen werde. Zusammen werden wir am 2. Dezember Richtung Sidney starten, wo wir ca. 2 Wochen...
Read More

Stressige Tage in Punta del Este

Momentan sind wir ziemlich genau zwischen Punta del Este und unserer nächsten Destination Cape Town. Wir hatten einen super Zwischenstopp in Uruguay, auch wenn die 10 Tage dort sehr dicht geplant waren, war es interessant. Ein grosses Danke an dieser Stelle an die...
Read More

Alles über The Ocean Cleanup Project!

Hier klicken.

Fragen? Hier gibts Antworten!

Hier klicken.

Unterstützen Sie mein Projekt!

Hier klicken.

Silber-Sponsoren:

Med & Motionb2c link

Ausrüster:

bucher + waltk-sales

Gönner:

Adrian Marty, Frauenfeld | Anna & Paul Eigenmann, Frauenfeld | b2c link GmbH, Zürich | Damian Amherd, Dietikon | Denise & Ueli Frei, Frauenfeld | Heiri Blatter, Marthalen | Jan Knus, Märstetten | Markus Vitalini, Lachen | Michael Schweizer, Zürich | Olivier Wenger, Dänikon | Otto’s Schweiz AG, Sursee | Priska & Jürg Altorfer, Baden | Rajesh Hosali, Winterthur | Roswitha Gugg, Stettfurt | Sailbox.ch | Simon Peter Zumbrunnen, Neftenbach | Theres Schmid, Uesslingen | Tomas Schwarz, Zürich
(alphabetisch)